You Can Pay Online  

New Stage

11 July
2018 | Wednesday
Evening of one-act ballets: The Cage. Carmen Suite. Forgotten Land.
Artists Credits
Ballet company

The performance has 1 intermission
Running time: 1 hour 50 minutes

"Forgotten Land"

Ballet in one act

T the music of Sinfonia da requiem by Benjamin Britten

Choreography: Jiří Kylián

Set and Costume Design: John F. Macfarlane

Lighting Design: Kees Tjebbes

Premiere: November 2, 2017

"The Cage"

Ballet in one act

to music by Igor Stravinsky

Choreography by Jerome Robbins © The Robbins Rights Trust

Costume Designer: Ruth Sobotka

Sets by Jean Rosenthal

Music Director: Igor Dronov

Lighting Designer: Jennifer Tipton

Ballet Masters: Jean-Pierre Frohlich, Glenn Keenan

Sets and Lighting Technical Coordination: Perry Silvey

Costume Production Designer:Holly Hynes

Рremiere: March 19, 2017.

Running time: 14 minutes.

Creation History

Stravinsky composed his Concerto in D for String Orchestra in 1946, as a commission for the 20th anniversary of the Basler Orchestra; it was his first work for string orchestra since Apollon Musagète. The vivid, haunting composition features a shift between D major and minor throughout the work and a rich quality for the writing of the strings. Jerome Robbins used Stravinksy’s concerto for one of his early works, The Cage, which imagines a community of female creatures. In describing the ballet, Robbins said, “I did not have to confine myself to human beings moving in a way that we know is human. In the way their fingers worked, in the crouch of a body or the thrust of an arm, I could let myself see what I wanted to imagine.”

"The Cage" - one of the greatest ballets of Jerome Robbins. In 1951, when this ballet began his life, his furious rage embarrassed the critics. In Holland, the authorities even first banned it - as "pornographic." J. Homans, "Angels of Apollo"

"Carmen Suite"

Ballet in one act to music by Georges Bizet and Rodion Shchedrin

Libretto Alberto Alonso based on the story Carmen by Prospero Merime

Choreographer Alberto Alonso

Designer: Boris Messerer

Music Director: Pavel Sorokin

Assistant to Choreographer: Sonia Calero Alonso

Lighting designer: Alexander Rubtsov

For the first time entered the repertory of the Bolshoi Theatre on April 20, 1967.

Revived on November 18, 2005.

Running time: 50 minutes.

An evening of one-act ballets

Age category 16+



Carmen Suite is a one-act ballet written in 1967 by Russian composer Rodion Shchedrin, based on a libretto and choreographed by Alberto Alonso. The music, taken from the opera Carmen by Georges Bizet and arranged for strings and percussion, is not a 19th century pastiche but rather "a creative meeting of the minds," as Shchedrin put it, with Bizet's melodies reclothed in a variety of fresh instrumental colors (including the frequent use of percussion), set to new rhythms and often phrased with a great deal of sly wit. Initially banned by the Soviet hierarchy as "disrespectful" to the opera for precisely these qualities, the ballet has since become Shchedrin's best-known work and has remained popular in the West as what reviewer James Sanderson of calls "an iconoclastic but highly entertaining retelling of Bizet's opera."

Main Stage 1 Teatralnaya ploschad (1 Theatre Square), Moscow, Russia
New Stage Bol'shaya Dmitrovka Street, 4/2, Moscow, Russia
Enter now for your chance to win a Bolshoi Backstage Tour for 2 !
An error occured. Please, try again.
You're In!
Now you are participating in the drawing of amazing Bolshoi Backstage Tour for 2!

To make an order, please use mobile version of our website - buy tickets from any smartphone